Need help with harness (long post) + a little success story!

Discussion of useful training and pet care tools.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

jennageit

Need help with harness (long post) + a little success story!

Post by jennageit »

Hi guys,

Recently I started putting all my years of dog training to use and started helping out people with their "problem" dogs. I'm not a qualified trainer, it's just something I've been doing for close to 30 years. I read, watch, study, read some more etc etc on every method of training that I can get my hands on, and then (like I did with the horses), I do what works, throw out what doesn't, and modify everything to suit the individual dog, then handler.

Before I go any further, I just want to have a little brag. In the last 6 weeks, I've helped 11 people stop feeling the need to re-home, surrender (or worse still) put their dogs down because of so-called bad behaviour. All dogs and family members are doing particularly well, but all are still a work in progress. I even got a card from one beautiful little 7 year old girl thanking me for helping them with their dog because now she's not afraid of her anymore, and her mummy said they can keep her! How beautiful is that?!

Anyway, I'm a BIG, HUGE fan of the no-pull harnesses. I'm using one on my Border Collie girl, and because of it, I can walk her without worry of her reefing on me and hurting my back. She no-longer pulls because it doesn't get her anywhere, and in the last week she's been walking off the collar only and staying by my leg.