Starting the new year off right - with positive training

First-time users can introduce themselves to the Positively community here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Boomersmum

Starting the new year off right - with positive training

Post by Boomersmum »

I am a reformed believer of dominance-based training methods. My New Years resolution is to learn as much as I can about positive training methods and make my dogs happier on top of better behaved. I have a clicker ready to go and I'm ready and excited to start learning! :D If I had guidance and got skilled and confident enough, I'd love to pay it forward by volunteering at the local shelter to make the dogs there more adoptable.

About me. I'm 37, divorced, no kids. I was a pharmacist, but have been on long term disability since 2006. I was diagnosed in 2005 with a very rare spinal cord disorder called syringomyelia (common in Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, as a matter of fact). Basically, instead of being a solid rod of tissue, my spinal cord became hollowed out in places and filled up with spinal fluid, creating cysts inside my cord called syrinxes. I've had 2 neurosurgeries. The first one was a cervical laminectomy where they cut out the back half of the vertebrae in my neck (C4 to T1), so now my spinal cord is essentially exposed back there, covered only by the muscle in my neck. The 2nd surgery, they cut into my spinal cord itself and inserted shunts to drain the built-up fluid inside there. I deal with constant, chronic severe pain all over my body, similar to the types of pain people with MS or fibromyalgia get. I have complications and extra pain in my neck from the surgeries. I have very strict activity limitations, making some of my dogs' misbehaviours (especially their pulling on walks and leash-reactivity) literally dangerous for me. My dream would be for Victoria to come help me in person, but I'm sure every single person on this board has said that, lol. :lol: I have all the time in the world to