Science diet

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

leigh

Science diet

Post by leigh »

hi, just wondering if Victoria, or anyone had any opinions on Science Diet?
I've been feeding my pom x jack russel wet Science Diet since she was about 4 months old - originally mixed with dry science diet, but now mixed with beef mince and chicken, along with lucky dog kibble.

I have read differing opinions on Science diet, and am interested to know people's opinions here.

I'm a student at the moment, and don't have much money - but I do like to give my animals the best possible (a bit hard sometimes with 2 dogs and a cat). What are people's opinions on the best store bought food in Australia for small dogs (jack russels)?
Sam-chan

Post by Sam-chan »

I'm a student too, although our Dal is back home with my family. We live in England, and feed him James Wellbeloved kibble (I can't remember his favourite though)and leftovers from time to time. The latter mostly consists of meat, one spare rib bone per time we have them, rice and vegetables. He loves Sundays because of that, because he gets chicken or ham, vegetables and gravy mixed with his kibble.

Before him we had a cross labrador, and he ate anything, he was mostly given a mixture of kibble with tinned food.

By 'Science Diet' do you mean a brand or in general? They're supposed to be good for your dog, but you need to read the labels, artificial colours and flavours are not good, because they make dogs completely manic.
leigh

Post by leigh »

hi Sam, I haven't ever seen James Wellbeloved in Australia.

Science diet is a brand of food in itself - very popular amongst vets and designer pet shops

http://www.hillspet.com/zSkin_2/index.j ... cale=en_AU

I've read conflicting opinions on discussion boards.

I don't want to use Eukanuba or Iams due to their history or experimenting on animals.