Min Pin

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Angus

Min Pin

Post by Angus »

Hi I am New to this forum I am a retired mechanic, I have a beautiful little female Min Pin she is one year old. the most intelligent dog I have owned, must be close to us all the time, she spends a lot of time sitting on my knee & she gets a bit upset when I have to go away & leave her with my wife . She has learned to talk & can say Hello. yum yum. when she eats things she likes & i love you. which she uses to to try and get her own way, It usually works. She has developed a problem with hair loss on her ears & getting a patch on her tail. we have had her to two vets & been treating her with PMP ear suspension for dogs & cats & have had her on Ketoconazole 100mg for a short time but have taken her of it because the side effects aren't good. We don't know where to go from here & was wondering if anyone out there has experienced problems like this with their dogs. Thank you.
JudyN

Re: Min Pin

Post by JudyN »

Hi Angus, and welcome to the forum :D I've popped your post into the Health, Diet & Exercise section where it should be seen by more people.
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
Nettle

Post by Nettle »

Hello and welcome. Min Pins are great little dogs!

Has she had a full thyroid panel? The hair loss is not quite typical, but there are always variations. You will have to ask your vet for a full panel as normally they only do two tests.

Is she spayed? Sometimes hair loss is hormonal.

Are you in touch with her breeder? Breeders are the experts with many breed-typical conditions. I don't know if this is a feature of the breed.

Where is the patch on her tail? Many dogs have a scent gland on the top surface of the tail that can lose hair around it.

Is she crated at all? Might she be rubbing the hair off when in her crate?
A dog is never bad or naughty - it is simply being a dog