Rabbits & lead shot

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

JudyN

Rabbits & lead shot

Post by JudyN »

Chopping up Jasper's rabbit today (he's not keen on a whole half rabbit yet) I found some shot in it. I wasn't sure if it was shot, netted, lurchered or farmed but this answers that. Should I be concerned about the lead in the shot? I don't know of anywhere round here I could get any other sort of rabbit at a reasonable price.
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
Nettle

Re: Rabbits & lead shot

Post by Nettle »

Pick out what you find and don't worry. My own dogs are amazing at picking out shot and we find it left in spotless food bowls later (they get game stew about once a week). I've been eating shot game for over 60 years and nothing has dropped off yet :D
A dog is never bad or naughty - it is simply being a dog

SET YOURSELF UP FOR SUCCESS
JudyN

Post by JudyN »

Thanks - he hasn't left any shot so far, he probably just regards it as an extra-crunchy bit :roll: But I won't worry about it.

I'm still trying to work out a way to dissect the rabbit without splattering every surface within 6 feet with blood and gore, though - I haven't got the strength just to use pressure on the cleaver, and a strong whack is much more fun :lol:
ClareMarsh

Post by ClareMarsh »

I have some super sharp scissors so I hold bunny over the sink by the back legs, cut open an drain 8)
Proud owner of Ted and baby Ella
My blog about Ted http://tinkerwolf.com/
Ted's Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/Tinkerwolf
Ted's You Tube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheTedVids
JudyN

Post by JudyN »

Hmmm, that's a thought - I'll try that before whacking, thanks!