Blue Buffalo

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

rnor1120

Blue Buffalo

Post by rnor1120 »

It was requested in another thread that I shed a little light on Blue Buffalo dog food. I want to throw out a disclaimer before I insert any opinions - I am a vet STUDENT, and not a doctor (yet), so anything I say can't be used as medical advice. If there are any questions about your dog's diet and nutrition, please get ahold of a good vet.

I am personally not a fan AT ALL with the Blue Buffalo foods. Their advertising is very attractive, claiming that they use "all natural" and "organic" ingredients (by the way, nearly impossible to do with commercial dog foods). Their big catch is that their food is best because meat is listed as the first ingredient. This always kills me - ingredients on any food label are listed in order of weight before preparation, so wet, juicy chicken is of course going to weight more than the dry corn or wheat ingredients. As a matter of fact, a lot of (much better) dog foods list meat as their first ingredient.

Anyways, the problems with this particular food caught my attention during my small animal nutrition block. A vet who has been a board certified companion animal nutritionist for who-knows-how-long had nothing but bad things to say about Blue. Not just nutritional issues, but their secretiveness. Most pet food companies are perfectly fine releasing information about ingredients, preparation, etc to vets. This particular professor had called, emailed, left messages, and never heard back from the company, which in my opinion is just a little scary. For the record, Blue Buffalo food is NOT veterinary recommended, certified, ANYTHING.