Dog refuses to move at bedtime

Discussion of useful training and pet care tools.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

markmcd

Dog refuses to move at bedtime

Post by markmcd »

Hello. I have a 9 year old Vizsla who has recently started some troubling behavior. She knows when my wife and I are about to wind things up for the night and put her in her crate, and she lies on her back and refuses to get up so we can let her out one last time before bed. We try and gently coax her up, but she has recently started to snap like she's going to bite. She has never bitten one of us, but we want to avoid and discourage this from happening. She is healthy, and acts completely normal throughout the day. It is only at bedtime when she acts this way. Any advice appreciated greatly.

Mark
thabs

Re: Dog refuses to move at bedtime

Post by thabs »

I am no expert so my advice is just thoughts.... I started to notice my puppy starting to do similar things in the last few weeks so I made a conscious effort to change my routine every night. Us humans tend to be creatures of habit and perform rituals and dogs pick up on those things so you have to make a point of not performing those rituals the same way every night. What I do is I will get up open the back door, go sit out back finish a glass of wine ect and let him come out on his own potty if he needs to (I will start this process well before I have to be in bed). Then I will go back in sit down watch the news a little longer get up walk back outside see if he comes out to potty, go up stairs and not make/let him follow brush my teeth/wash my face, go back down walk back outside hang out for a few min to give him a last chance to potty, get water for the night and head to the bed room. Once I go to the bedroom I always bring his favorite toys/chewy's/a treat/frozen peanut butter filled kong ect toss them in the back of the crate and when he decides to come up on get in to get his chewy i close the crate and go to bed. Every night you s