Transitioning from crate to free rein when home alone

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

ghowarth

Transitioning from crate to free rein when home alone

Post by ghowarth »

Over the last two months or so, I have begun to transition my nearly 9 month old lab--Kahlua--from crate to free rein of certain areas of our home when she is left alone. She had been doing beautifully until this last week. We had worked up to 4 hours of alone time with no problems except for an occasional accident by the backdoor (where she typically goes out to pee) while we were away.

I am a graduate student with a fairly flexible schedule except for six weeks of full time employment over the summer. During my time of full time employment, Kahlua attended doggie daycare and played herself into a state of exhaustion by the end of the day. It was during this time that I began making the transition from crate to freedom when my husband and I left the house. I was confident she would rest virtually the whole time we were gone and that proved to be true. After daycare ended, I continued to be confident that she would behave when left alone given proper exercise beforehand. This was true for a few weeks, but no longer!