3 mo old puppy - what to expect on walk

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

zekesmom

3 mo old puppy - what to expect on walk

Post by zekesmom »

First, let me apologize if this has been covered. I did a search on walking puppy and got over 2,700 results.

Second, thank you so much to all of you who take the time to post responses on these boards. I am new to training a puppy and I am incredibly grateful for the wisdom here to help me get through this. I have already learned a great deal.

So, here is my question. I have a 12 week old lab puppy. What should I reasonably expect his behavior to be on walks? He's okay with being in a harness and on leash. He is very well behaved and doesn't try to chew the leash or jump. But, about every 20 yards, he lays down in what I would call "sphynx position" and just surveys his surroundings. From what I read, that is common for a puppy. I let him get comfortable and then try to encourage him to get moving again. Sometimes, he gets "stuck" for a while. And if he sees anything that interests him, we are stuck for a very long time (like the roofers down the street last week- he just thought that was WAY too interesting to walk away from).

Should I just let him be and let him be a puppy? Or, should I be trying to work on training in this situation? What is a reasonable expectation of behavior on walks at this young age? I am trying to keep walks to around 15 minutes. I'd say about half of that time is just waiting on him to decide it's okay to keep going.

Many thanks!!!
surviving puppyhood
zekesmom

Post by zekesmom »

AHA! I realized how to search properly and found a very similar string. Dated 9/18/07 by "Mojo" about a 3 month old GS. Here is "emmabeths" answer:
>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Hiya

At 12 weeks old shes not old enough for long walks anyway, she should only be having 15 minutes on the lead per day maximum.

How forceful should corrections be?...