PetSmart Investigation//Notification

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

ChillyAndClover

PetSmart Investigation//Notification

Post by ChillyAndClover »

I've been a dog trainer myself for quite some time now, and many of my clients would come to me after having pulled the dog out of a PetSmart class. One of the most recent was a 10month old Boxer with dog to dog aggression issues. She had to pull her out of the basic obedience group class because of the extremely high stress levels that her boxer would endure, being around the other dogs. The "Professional" PetSmart trainers stated that this was normal, but her aggression was getting worse. So she came to me some time after that, after seeing me working with my own dogs at a park.

So anyway, I went to PetSmart to ask them about their training. I was just curious and I wanted to provide my own clients with some insight. As I walked to their training area, I heard some one yelling "Ehh Ehh, NO!" I then talked to the trainer that was doing this. She stated that she was using purely positive reinforcement and clicker training. I'm sorry people, but just because you are using treats, does not mean it is posiitve training. I do not believe being yelled at is positive. Anyone care to argue with me on that one? So she went on telling me how their trainers have to go through a course and get certified and everything, I asked her how long the course was. 2 weeks, she said. Anyone who has a brain would know that 2 weeks is definately not enough time to become a dog trainer.

I'm just upset because there are so many people that go to their classes that people are getting the wrong idea about what positive training really is. It's helping to create a stigma about training. =(

So, are there any ideas on how I could go about protesting this?
Chilly & Clover