Help on vicious dog/nail clipping

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

flyersblue

Help on vicious dog/nail clipping

Post by flyersblue »

I am new to the sight. I have a question that I am not sure that anyone has seen. I have taken in my brothers dog to live with us. He was only hours away from taking her to the SPCA. He was moving and had NO WHERE for her to go. We decided that we had the room and we couldnt see her going to the SPCA. He was and is very thankful. She is a 4 year old full rotty. She is about 90lbs and has hip displayisa (sp?). We have two of our own dogs and two children. Everyone gets along just fine. My brother really didnt do much training. Some of the basics. She was over weight. We have had her for about 10 months and she has lost weight and is on new meds for her hips. She is doing great. When she arrived she wouldnt let me do much to her....now I can do just about everything. She wouldnt let me touch her feet and now I can play with her toes. But when it comes to clipping the nails...forget it. She turns VICIOUS! We have had to take her to the vets to get knocked out to have them clipped. She is so bad that the vet isnt sure they want her to have them clipped there anymore. The were afraid of her. She is good with everything this else, but that. I can take things from her mouth, food, toys....She is GREAT with the kids. My 5 year old thinks she belongs to her. Anything that anyone can suggest....go for it. Thanks in advance! :wink:
cbabygurl

Post by cbabygurl »

My dog is the same way and I have to lay down with him, hold him head (so he can't see) while my boyfriend cuts his nails.
Also you could try filing them.
I would file my nails first (while my dog watches), then I would do the same to him. It's sound silly but it works.
GOOD LUCK!!
I hope this helps.
*CASSADY*
cbabygurl

Post by cbabygurl »

sorry hold *his head
*CASSADY*
flyersblue