Timid German Shepherd pup--am I training right?

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

1Stella98

Timid German Shepherd pup--am I training right?

Post by 1Stella98 »

I told you guys I was going to be posting alot! I need to figure out how to change my user name on this site...my dog's name is Stella (hence, my username), but I am Michelle. As I mentioned before, I am an obedience trainer at one of the big box pet stores. We do classes and I also do private training for dogs who have one or two things to work on and do not need a whole class, or for people who cannot commit to a six week class schedule, or for dogs that cannot tolerate a class for whatever reason. I have worked with quite a few timid dogs who would just shut down in a class. I have had success by crouching down on my knees when greeting a shy dog, not making eye contact, and tossing treats in the dog's direction. This goes on for a few minutes and eventually the dog gets comfortable taking the treat from my hand. On another visit, when the time seems right, I will attempt to pet the dog once he has associated me and our store with good things. This can take several sessions, and I often have people bring their dogs to the store several times a week for just ten minutes, so I can say hello, toss treats, and then walk together before they leave with their person. Dog owners often get impatient with this, but I explain to them that I cannot help them train their dog if the dog doesn't trust me and won't let me touch him! I have to gain the dog's confidence.