Please Help

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

greeny6062

Please Help

Post by greeny6062 »

Hello my name is Laura Im new to hear and really would like some help,
William is my 15 month old St Bernard who is rather large, i used to take him places in my car when i could fit him in my boot, i would have to lift him in the boot though front end first then back end as he would refuse to jump in himself, as he is no longer able to fit in my boot we tried putting him in the back of my husbands van so we can still take him out places but we are unable to get him in it, as soon as he goes near it he lays down and refuses to move and with a dog his size it is impossible to shift him. i have tried getting in the back first with the children calling him aswell, i have tried throwing meat in the back and it just wont work i really want to take him out and cant think of anything else to do Please help me.
Buddy'smyboy

Re: Please Help

Post by Buddy'smyboy »

My dog also highly dislikes getting into the back of my mom's car, and he's a hundred pounds (about 45 kg) so I can relate.

Could you perhaps try a ramp such as these?

http://www.petclassics.com/Outdoor-Dog-Ramps/

I've never tried one with Buddy my dog, but if your dog doesn't want to jump in he could walk in on one of these and he wouldn't have to be lifted in either.

Currently what I'm doing with Buddy is using the clicker to help teach him to get in. My ultimate goal is for him to put his paws in the car so his front end is up so I can just lift his hind end in since he's uncomfortable with jumping in. If you don't know about the clicker here's a good link to get started:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=513