Hi from England :) Baby whippets anyone?

First-time users can introduce themselves to the Positively community here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Raichyrae

Hi from England :) Baby whippets anyone?

Post by Raichyrae »

Hello everyone, I am Rachel, new 'mum' to Gelert, an 11 week old whippet and 4 human children. I am brand new to pups, having previously had a rescue greyhound who was the easiest dog ever...sadly we lost her in 2006 and it's taken me this long to get another dog. I'm having all the usual puppy issues I suppose and feeling overwhelmed as the niggles changes day by day. I am proud of the fact that he is toilet trained, will sit and is getting good at impulse control but still jumps on the smaller children, mouths hands (and noses) and has begun to growl when foisted off the couch (he was alllowed on till he began to growl at the children when they attempted to move him so they could sit down...end of couch privileges) I love Victoria's TV show and also bought her book in preparation but I'm probably doing almost everything wrong and though I'm feeling like asking a million questions, will trawl through the topics first to see if my queries have been answered already. Feel free to say 'hi' and as soon as I've worked out how to, I will post some pictures of my (frankly gorgeous) pup! Thanks for reading xxx
Suzette

Re: Hi from England :) Baby whippets anyone?

Post by Suzette »

Hi, welcome aboard! :D Your Gelert sounds precious. I can't wait to see some pics! :D
My avatar is Piper, my sweet Pembroke Corgi. b. 5/11/11
JudyN

Post by JudyN »

Welcome :D It sounds like you're doing most things right - house training a puppy with four children to keep an eye on must be quite a challenge!
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
Raichyrae

Post by Raichyrae »