Fat Boy Ari going on a diet... :-(

Upload pictures of your dogs here!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Ari_RR

Fat Boy Ari going on a diet... :-(

Post by Ari_RR »

The scale shows that he gained a few pounds over the last several months.... And he really does look a bit too porky to my taste, so on a diet Ari goes... This will be a struggle for Bubble Boy, but he was 105.2 lbs at the vet this morning, and that's after a long walk in the park before breakfast. :shock:

JudyN

Re: Fat Boy Ari going on a diet... :-(

Post by JudyN »

Ah, poor Ari :( That's what I weighed until middle age hit :lol:

Will you be upping his exercise too? He's a bit lazy, if I recall correctly. I'm wondering if he wants a bit more tone rather than a bit less weight (though I might be talking rubbish, I'm no expert :wink: ).
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
Ari_RR

Post by Ari_RR »

I should really do both - lower his food intake and up the exercise... Which I guess would mean me running more, and that will be a tough pill to swallow too... :lol:
gwd

Post by gwd »

since ari is now officially a full grown boy, he's old enough to do road work if you're wanting to provide him extra exercise ........perhaps you could pull out the bike and get him some sustained running.
Ari_RR

Post by Ari_RR »

No, no bike, unfortunately, his recall isn't nearly good enough for that... Coupled with tendency to wonder off on his own when he sees or hears or smells something of interest (which is all the time)
So it ought to be real running on the trails in the nature park with him on a long leash... one of my least enjoyable forms of exercise :twisted:
jacksdad

Post by jacksdad »

but, but winter is coming one and one needs a little extra in the cold weather :wink:

*ppsst ari, I am trying buddy* :lol:
gwd

Post by gwd »

jacksdad wrote:winter is coming
so yer a stark are ya?
Ari_RR

Post by Ari_RR »

:lol:
4th day of restricted intake...