Def Staff but crossed with what?

Breed specific discussion of your favorite breed.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

PeppermintPanda

Def Staff but crossed with what?

Post by PeppermintPanda »

This is my new(ish) dog, Aston

He's listed at the vet as a Staff/Boxer cross but the Boxer part is pretty much guesswork.

There's something about the tilt to his nose, though

but he's got too much leg for a pure bred Staff.

He stands about 1' 11" at the shoulder and weighs 72lbs.

Any guesses as to what the cross part might be? It has been bugging me a bit. Although I suspect that there is no way on knowing for sure :?
In a perfect world, every dog would have a home and every home would have a dog
JudyN

Re: Def Staff but crossed with what?

Post by JudyN »

This is probably not what you want to hear, but he does look quite pitbullish to me. I'm not an expert by any means though.
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
PeppermintPanda

Hi Judy,

No, that's not what I wanted to hear :( It's illegal to own a Pit Bull type dog in the UK. One of the reasons why I wanted to have a more definitive idea as to Aston's X part. He's such a friendly and loving dog and it would be disastrous if he was labelled as a Pit Bull. I feel sure, that, from what I've read, if the authorities thought he was then he could be taken away and destroyed, simply for being labelled a Pit Bull type though there are absolutely no problems with his nature. He's an affable, lovable, big hearted dog and not the least aggressive.

It's my biggest worry :cry:

I shall try to get more information from my daughter about his first owner....

Thanks for your response though.
JudyN

Post by JudyN »

Nettle will be able to give you a far more expert opinion and also advise you of anything you can do to keep him safe - I'm sure she'll be along soon but if not, do drop her a PM.

He's lovely :D The sooner we can get shot of breed-specific legislation the better :evil:
PeppermintPanda

Hi Judy,