Bathing and Clipping

Discussion of grooming tips and questions.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

shonajvernon

Bathing and Clipping

Post by shonajvernon »

Hi,

I took my 9 month old Westie to me clipped at washed today, but she became vicious and she bit the woman and she was unable to undergo anything. We even attempted at putting a muzzle on her but she forced it off with her paws. I am terribly embarrassed at the situation that happened and I have no idea in how to help her get used to being clipped and washed, please does anyone have any advice?!

Any tips appreciated,
Shona xx
JudyN

Re: Bathing and Clipping

Post by JudyN »

Hi Shona, and welcome to the forum. I'm not an expert, but I'll give you my tuppence worth :D

First, is it necessary for her to be clipped and washed, and could you do it yourself? Now she's had a scary experience at the groomer's, it will take some time to get her confidence back.

I would start on clipping & washing at home. Just approach it very gradually, for instance just picking up the clippers and treating & praising her, then putting them away. Or putting her in the sink/bath without any water, and treating her. Then that's it for the day.

You could also take her to the groomer's, just to visit. This might mean that you drive there, get out the car, give her a treat and go home again, if she shows signs of stress when she realises where she is. Build up to being able to go in there and have the groomer make a fuss of her without attempting to do anything. Then they can start lifting the clippers and treating, and so on and so forth. Ideally you stop before she shows any signs of stress but if she growls, back off - she's not yet comfortable.

I wouldn't advise putting a muzzle on her because it may encourage you to push her beyond her comfort zone. If you think there are signs that she might bite, you've already pushed her too far.

Hope some of that helps!
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
shonajvernon