MY DOG IS AFRAID OF YOUNG CHILDREN - please help!!!!!!!

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

matina

MY DOG IS AFRAID OF YOUNG CHILDREN - please help!!!!!!!

Post by matina »

Hello to everyone!! :D

I am new to this, and I am hoping to find answers to our problem, as it seems no trainer can help us on this one... We are the proud owners of a 12month old Golden retriever puppy (Noah) .. :) He is a great dog, very friendly to all, very happy dog, etc. but... If a child comes across on our dailly walkies, then he lowers his ears, his eyes pop out in fear, he puts his tail between his feet, and pulls me in an opposite direction, as if he has seen "Freddy Kruegger".. I mean.. he is a rather submissive dog by nature.. Thats basically why we selected him instead of his other brothers and sisters(because we wouldn't know how to deal with a dominant dog) and I repeat although he loves meeting new people and falls on his back waiting for them to scratch his belly and he has been socialized, he is (other than that) fearless, nothing not noices, nor thunders, nor fireworks scare him, he has no anxieties, or any problems that we can think of..
But he is absolutelly petrified of children between the age of aprox. 9 months old - 11year old children... which is even more strange!!! With tiny newborns he is cautious, but ok. Our guess is that because he loves to smell pee (i guess like most dogs) and babies pee a lot.. maybe thats why he is ok with them.. maybe not, i don't know... and with children over the age of 11 or at least taller children, he is ok, and with some of them he might even play and run around in the park (very sheldom,, but it has happened)
We have had him all his life and the people who we got him from, absolutelly adored his parents, so this is not an abusse related issue..