Website- Advertising for E-Collars and the likes

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

carrie_02

Website- Advertising for E-Collars and the likes

Post by carrie_02 »

Hello everyone. I am quite new to positive training and am definitely not an expert dog owner, but I would really like to start a website where I write about living with and training my dogs. Obviously I won't pretend to be an expert, but I think I might be able to connect with a few new dog owners or people thinking about getting a dog, and hopefully they'll see positive training in a positive light and will find new ways to have fun with their dog.

Anyways, here is my quandary. I am really low in money. I always have been my whole adult life, I have a low paying job so I'm good at budgeting, BUT, I budget very seriously because I must. I'll have to be paying to host my website and those costs, which won't be very much, but enough for me to have to slightly rearrange other costs a bit. For that reason, I'm thinking that it would be smart to have advertisements on my website (like, Google Adsense ads). I know I won't make a fortune at all, but any bit I can recoup would be important.

But, with Google Adsense you can't control what products are advertised on your website. You can block certain URLS / Companies, but obviously I couldn't block all of those with products I don't agree with (products that completely contradict what I say on my website) like underground fences, e-collars, and other aversive products. So I have to think: do I want to recoup some of the costs- even though it probably won't be much, it would be the smart thing to do considering how little extra money I have- while kind of SACRIFICING my moral beliefs, or should I leave out the ads and not make any of the money back, but at least know I'm not supporting any bad products? What would you do? What do you think I should do?

I appreciate hearing any of your opinions. Thank you.
JudyN