Positive Methods Work on School Kids Too!

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Fundog

Positive Methods Work on School Kids Too!

Post by Fundog »

First some background: Long before I ever got a dog, I used positive methods on my own human children: I rarely "told" them to do something, but almost always "asked" them with "please" and "thank you." (Funny thing, my father did that, while my mother used the other method, under threat of bodily harm if we did not comply.)

If my dogs are outside barking at a feral cat, I don't go yell at them. I just calmly (even cheerfully) go outside and herd them inside. Barking stopped, problem solved, dogs happy, people happy. :D

Now for those of you who missed my latest "introduction" post updating y'all on what I'm up to now, I am a substitute teacher at the school here in town. Sadly, I keep hearing a triumphant "Yessss!!!!" when the kids find out I am their teacher for any class that day. Then I hear them tell me I am their favorite sub. Then (and this is the sad part) they start bashing another substitute, while each student in turn says, "I don't like him. No, me neither!"

Why don't they like this other substitute, and moreover, why do the kids prefer me?

Well, this substitute yells at them. Yes, really yells. And if they put just one toe out of line, he "writes them up" for the real teacher. Students who get "written up" get detention.

I'm the opposite: I never yell, unless the students are being so loud they can't hear me. But that is rare, and I try to use all my other "tricks" before I resort to raising my voice above them.

I ask, I don't boss. I use "please and thank you."

I give a "positive" instruction that is incompatible with whatever the student is doing that is not okay. ("Walk Please! {"Thank you" when they slow down}; "Please stop," when a student is doing something annoying, etc.)

And I encourage, encourage, encourage!