"Cat saves boy from dog" video - behaviour analysis

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

minkee

"Cat saves boy from dog" video - behaviour analysis

Post by minkee »

This video has been doing the rounds on facebook today - *content warning* dog attacks small boy's leg

http://www.theindychannel.com/tablet-sh ... eld-051414

Now obviously it's the amazing cat "leaping to the rescue" that has everyone excited - but I find the dog's behaviour REALLY curious. When people tell us "I wasn't doing anything it came out of nowhere!" we all inwardly roll our eyes and think 'well there MUST have been something' envisaging them hanging over the dog and being all up in its face. And while there still must have been 'something' it's not so easy to work out what!

The dog definitely seems to start stalking... but the cat doesn't seem to be in sight - would it really stalk the child like that? It all seems very odd to me, but I'm no expert so I would be interested to hear your opinions
Nettle

Re: "Cat saves boy from dog" video - behaviour analysis

Post by Nettle »

Can't get it to play but I think it might be my computer, so will call back later. I want to see this!
A dog is never bad or naughty - it is simply being a dog

SET YOURSELF UP FOR SUCCESS
minkee

Post by minkee »

Here's a better link - hopefully this one will work!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzY3wkJpbFY
Nettle

Post by Nettle »

Thank you - seen it now. Buy that cat some prawns!