Need Advice...

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Brandii

Need Advice...

Post by Brandii »

I am very interested in pursuing a career in dog training. One day I would like to become a dog behaviorist. I have been reading a few training books, of course watching Victoria's show, and working with my own dogs--I have 4 rat terriers. I don't have a lot of money to go to school, but I feel that this is my dream job. Does anyone have any suggestions of how I could accomplish getting a career in this field? I am currently a manager at a grocery store and I absolutely hate it. I have owned dogs all of my life and I am very passionate about working with animals. I would like to work for shelters, training dogs, so that they are adoptable and wanted. I live in Southern Missouri, which here there are only kill shelters and we also have laws governing pitbulls. I would love to work to convince the city officials, that it should be the deed not the breed. Well now I am rambling....If anyone has advice or any sites I can check out, please let me know. :D
Brandii Breshears
Saving just one dog will not change the world.. but the world will surely change for that one dog.
Mattie

Post by Mattie »

I know a trainer in the USA managed to get herself a Mentor to learn dog training and behaviour, if you have a positive trainer near you, why not approach them and ask if you can help with the classes to learn.
[url=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/Nethertumbleweed/PIXIE.jpg][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/Nethertumbleweed/th_PIXIE.jpg[/img][/url]
Nettle

Post by Nettle »

Those are great ambitions and no reason why you shouldn't become a really good dog trainer/behaviourist even if you might not be able to change the mindset of the dog-haters. :D