Would like to buy a Dobeman Puppy

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

dave112

Would like to buy a Dobeman Puppy

Post by dave112 »

Hi everyone,
I am new to this site but have always been a fan of Victoria.

Ever since I was a young lad I have dreamed of having my own dog. I am now nearly 28 and soon I would like to buy my first puppy!
I studied animal care and worked with dogs at the NCDL so I do have some experience with them.

It is a Doberman I would like and I have done a lot of research into the breed.
The problem I have is that I do not have a garden!!! I know this is far from ideal... I have a 3 bedroom house 'fairly good size' that I share with my brother. We have a communial small courtyard but that is only where we park etc.

Would I have problems getting a reputable breeder to sell me a puppy? Exercise WOULD NOT be a problem!!! I also am a Window Cleaner so I could take him out with me in the car a lot.
Am I being naive. Is it not better for a dog to receive lots of love and exercise but not have a garden. Or someone have a huge garden but not offer the dog much love.

I just really really would love to get a puppy in the near future but I am worried a breeder would not touch me with a barge pole.

One other thing and I apolgize if its a stupid question. Can you usually buy Doberman puppies most of the year? Or is it sort of seasonal... Probably a stupid question but been a while since I have worked with anaimls.

Thanks for any help..

Dave
Ocelot0411

Post by Ocelot0411 »

Hi Dave!

Welcome to the forum. Great choice of dog, but I am biased as I have a one year old Doberman :lol: .