To veg or not to veg

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Shalista

To veg or not to veg

Post by Shalista »

I'd just like to start a discussion on the topic. I've been feeding bax veggies for a few months now and i know he LOVES them. he devours them first and will chase every last pea across the floor before he starts his meat but does he need them? does it hurt him?

I've noticed in his stool that the peace come out drained out of color but almost completely intact. I'm taking that to mean that yes he's getting SOMETHING out of it but not a lot.

What are your thoughts on feeding veggies?

EDIT - ive heard some people cook or puree first before feeding veggies?
Baxter (AKA Bax, Chuckles, Chuckster) Rat Terrier, born 01/16/13
Suzette

Re: To veg or not to veg

Post by Suzette »

My dog never really liked eating veggies. I offered them, but she didn't usually eat them. Now I grind her raw food instead of giving her whole meaty bones and I put steamed veggies into the mix. She devours it! I like that she gets veggies in her meals. It simply cannot hurt. The key is to steam or lightly cook them. Raw veggies tend to come out the same way they went in.
My avatar is Piper, my sweet Pembroke Corgi. b. 5/11/11
Shalista

Post by Shalista »

yeah im begining to wonder, i just was reading a post from a website Judy gave me about a woman talking about how feeding raw veggies is giving them food they cant digest... which is why we feed raw in the FIRST PLACE, to avoid that. so now im torn about feeding Bax his peas :?
Erica

Post by Erica »