1 month of raw feeding

Discussion dedicated to promoting the well-being of your dog through diet, exercise and general health tips.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Shalista

1 month of raw feeding

Post by Shalista »

Hey so there's been some interest and some doubts about the amount of work raw feeding takes. I am by no means an expert and I'm pretty new at raw feeding but I figured I'd open a bit of a window into my experiences with it.

To start with I have a 3 (almost 4) year old Rat Terrier named Bax.

He's about 11 pounds now but I've been trying to put some weight on him. Upping food amounts is easy with raw feeding. To do that I've been employing some pretty simple math made easy with this raw feeding spreadsheet.

I tend to buy my meat from the local supermarket and I try to buy enough to last a month. I buy breasts usually, which are pricier but easier to cut up. Today I bought a mixture of breasts and thighs since I needed the bones from the thighs.

I bought 16 pounds of meat total.
9 pounds of thighs at $.99/lb
7 pounds of breasts at $1.99/lb
1 bag of frozen peas at $4.49
1 bag of frozen broccoli at $1.99
1 can of pumpkin puree at $1.49
In total I spent $29.04 on dog food

I made 34 meals with 16 thigh bones.

I started preparing his food at 6:40pm and ended at 7:36. If an hour once a month seems like a lot of time consider it just spending two minutes with your dog once a night for a month. It's not a huge investmant of time.